The Spirit of Hong Kong Awards celebrates the achievements of truly remarkable people who might otherwise be off the radar. Judges include Professor Frederick Ma Si-hang, The Hon. Ronald Arculli, Mr James Blake, Mr Chua Hoi-wai, Ms Shelley Lee Lai-kuen, Dr Daryl Ng Win-kong, Ms Nikki Ng Mien-hua, Dr David J. Pang, Ms Tammy Tam Wai-yee and Ms Anne Wu Hung-yuk.


Sir David Akers-Jones


Patron of The Spirit of Hong Kong Awards


To ensure the awards are being recognised as authoritative, in-touch, and positive image to our readers and the public, we will have 1 chairperson with 9 judges on the panel.


Professor Frederick Ma Si-hang, GBS, JP


Professor Ma was born and educated in Hong Kong. He graduated with a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) degree from the University of Hong Kong in 1973 majoring in economics and history.  Since graduation, he had taken up different major positions of various local and overseas banks, financial institutions and major companies, including Chase Manhattan Bank, Royal Bank of Canada Dominion Securities, JP Morgan Chase, Kumagai Gumi (HK) Limited and Pacific Century Cyberworks Limited.  He has rich experience in banking and financial sector.



Dr Daryl Ng Win-kong, JP

Executive Director, Sino Group

Dr David J. Pang

Director, Kerry Holdings Limited

Mr James Blake, GBS, OBE, JP


The Hon. Ronald Arculli, GBM, CVO, GBS, OBE, JP

Senior Partner, King & Wood Mallesons, Hong Kong Office

Ms Shelley Lee Lai-kuen, GBS, OBE, JP

President, Maryknoll Convent School Educational Trust

Mr Chua Hoi-wai

Chief Executive, The Hong Kong Council of Social Service

Ms. Anna Wu Hung-yuk, GBS, JP

Lawyer, Chair of the Competition Commission

Ms Tammy Tam Wai-yee

Editor in Chief, South China Morning Post

Ms Nikki Ng Mien-hua

Group General Manager, Sino Group